DIY Soy Milk

20120823-102302.jpg

It was only a few years ago that I truly started to love tofu when we discovered Wildwood brand (husband is a vegetarian). It has a lovely soft silky eggy texture that I hadn’t found before, the others were often grainy and rubbery, I hadn’t realized proper tofu was a wonder.

Side-note: Around this time I tried (again) to like store bought soy milk. I really wanted to but I never quite got there but it is lovely when chai-ed. Heat up a carton of vanilla flavoured soy milk in a pot, add chai tea (loose or bags) and honey or other sugar to your taste. Strain if necessary, cool in an ice bath and refrigerate. Lovely over ice.

And then I bought this book because of my new love for tofu and the fact that I can’t pass up a challenge to try and make something myself. (unless that something is blue cheese – yuck). I can’t say enough good things about this book.

20120823-105605.jpg

I’ll eventually try to make tofu as soon as I find a local or online Canadian source for Nigari but you can’t make quality tofu before you master the milk. (All online sources I found were related to auto soy milk maker portions as opposed to just a bottle of nigari or gypsum – if you have a source in Canada or who ships here please let me know. Thanks!)

Making soy milk is fairly simple. Soak organic soy beans until evenly and thoroughly saturated and whiz up in a blender with water until creamy. The amount of water that you use determines if you’re making lighter or richer milk – I made rich as I am a greedy savage.

20120823-110649.jpg

Heat in a pot with a little more water until it gets foamy and nearly boils over.

20120823-112705.jpg

Drain through several layers of cheesecloth (rich takes longer to drain) and squeeze out as much milk as you can from the lees (leftover solids) after it cools down a bit. You can add water to the lees and do a second pressing but I did not (will cook them into something TBA over next day or two, the book has suggestions fortunately).

20120823-110950.jpg
Put it back on the stove for another 5-10 minutes to make it more digestible and voila… you have soy milk. I added a bit of vanilla and cane sugar to mine while it was still hot. It is as thick as 10% cream and tastes delicious. Price-wise the cup of organic soy beans cost less than a dollar (will verify exact price next time I am at the store and update) and made about 4 cups of rich soy milk.

20120823-113227.jpg

About stanleycottagegarden

We garden, we cook, sometimes we blog.
Gallery | This entry was posted in DIY, Experiment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DIY Soy Milk

  1. diydumpling says:

    Looks good enough for a milkshake! Or, rather, a soyshake!

  2. Just discovering the wonders of homemade tofu and soy milk ourselves, and it’s much better than what you find in the stores. We haven’t mastered silken tofu yet, but have made a few nice blocks of firm tofu – and although nigari is better (fresher tasing and smoother), vinegar works pretty well.

Leave a Reply

