Meyer Lemon Shred Marmalade

Meyer Lemons

Meyer Lemons

The first Meyer lemons of the season are finally available. I’ve never been a huge fan of marmalade, mostly because of the pith, but I’ve been looking for a preserve to make with Meyer lemons so I can enjoy them for longer than the few weeks they’ll be available in the store.

Peeling Meyer lemons

Peeling Meyer lemons

I came across this 2004 recipe from Canadian Living which only has the thinly sliced rind in the finished product.

Thinly sliced rind

Thinly sliced rind

So I used Meyers instead of regular lemons (it took 14 to get the weight required in the recipe) and it turned out pretty good.

Juice the lemons, reserving the pith and seeds

Juice the lemons, reserving the pith and seeds

It was a two step process, cook the lemon juice, rind and water first.

Chopped pith and seeds are tied up in cheesecloth

Chopped pith and seeds are tied up in cheesecloth

Then simmer for a while so the pith softens and releases the pectin.

Simmer for an hour or so

Simmer for an hour or so

Then the lemon mixture is divided and boiled up with sugar to get the final product.

Before and after

Before and after

As it was my first marmalade I didn’t quite boil it long enough, but it’s thick enough to hold its shape and it tastes fabulous. Was marvelous on toast this morning.

Meyer Lemon Shred Marmalade

Meyer Lemon Shred Marmalade

And finally… I tried a new product on some of the jars called 4everrecap which are some new school reusable lids and rings. Full disclosure, I inadvertently won a free dozen on twitter by mentioning their product but I also bought two dozen because I think it’s a great idea. Anyway first impressions are they were easy to use, the seal worked and I like I can use them over and over again forever. Will still use some single use lids for giving away jars and I’ll watch them to ensure they maintain their seal, but I’m happy with them. I did miss the *pop* of the lids sealing, but I suppose it’s something I can get used to.

20121203-171820.jpg

About stanleycottagegarden

We garden, we cook, sometimes we blog.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Fruit, Preserving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

