Growing ginger, vodka infusions and homemade garlic powder

We had an unseasonably warm day today of 16 degrees Celsius (normal high of -2) and all the snow had melted so I put on my wellies and did a garden inspection. I was amazed to see the parsley and thymes were still alive (they never survived in Toronto or Ottawa) so I moved the cold frame to protect them to provide fresh herbage in weeks to come. Sadly I planted the cold frame lettuce too late, will do better next year. Had mulched and burlapped the artichokes and they’re trying to grow up through so either this winter is again milder or these are some hearty artichokes.

Ginger grown in a pot and then preserved in a syrup for home made ginger ale

Ginger grown in a pot and then preserved in a syrup for home made ginger ale

I harvested the big pot of ginger and turned it into syrup, it was just an experiment, but figure I will keep a small pot growing on hand in case of future ginger emergencies.

Image

Peel was dried in the dehydrator and then added to a jar of vodka with some spices

The vodka infusion experiment was a dismal failure, in that it tastes gross (to me anyway) and is still sitting in the fridge, I’m trying to think of something to do with it – will probably bake it into something or try adding some to a Moroccan stew once the preserved lemons are ready in two weeks. Experiment #2 will be a gin infusion with dried lemon peel and dried ginger, something I’m more likely to enjoy.

home made garlic powder in photos

home made garlic powder in photos

Finally got around to making some organic garlic powder this week. Worth the trouble just for the amazing smell throughout the house while the garlic was drying in the dehydrator. BTW if you are going to buy a dehydrator do not buy this one. Realized too late I couldn’t use it for fruit leathers. If it ever dies I will buy an Excalibur. Four heads of garlic equals a little less than a cup.

About stanleycottagegarden

We garden, we cook, sometimes we blog.
Gallery | This entry was posted in DIY, Experiment, Garden, Preserving, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growing ginger, vodka infusions and homemade garlic powder

  1. I love how you try these experiments! I’m not as adventurous as you, so it’s fun to read :-)

  2. littlesundog says:

    I have a 9-tray Excalibur… one of my best investments! Don’t wait for the Salton to die. Sell it and get the Excalibur now! You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

